Search

Hi folks,

I am on the verge of changing my old dedicated servers for something better. Everybody is already familiar with the "Cloud", but what about hosting Symphony in this magnificent beast ? Did you ever tried/succeded/failed ? And why ?

I have a nice website ready to go and we have problems with the Akamai system. I am pretty sure the only thing that is not working is the session, since we really have problems with the login. Anybody ever tried Akamai with Symphony ?

It searched the forum and could not get anything talking about this and I am really curious to read your experiences.

BTW, I just registered for a free Engine Yard PHP Cloud account. We try it and see how it does.

Thanks.

Try AppFog. I have Symphony running on there. It works great so far.

I have some experience with running Symphony on the cloud via PaaS and lots of experience with running it over IaaS.

In terms of PaaS, take a look at Orchestra. They use nginx instead of Apache, so the .htaccess rewrite rule needs to be adjusted but we have worked with Orchestra to ensure that Symphony can run on their platform.

Regarding Cloud infrastructures, if you're open to IaaS, I'd recommend Standing Cloud. Soario is currently working with them to create a dedicated Symphony cloud service. Let me know if you are interested in testing it out.

I also have experience with Akamai edge delivery/CDN. Though in this instance, Rowan (buzzomatic) is the best man to speak to since he's helped manage several large projects on Akamai.

The way Akamai works is through page-level caching, and by virtue of this kind of caching solution, sessions and dynamic content is not really possible. Take a look at this article for a more detailed explanation of Akamai v.s. dynamic content.

As an alternative (though it's not a direct apples-to-apples comparison), take a look at CloudFlare.

Try AppFog.

@bzerangue I did check them out, but their pricing method based on RAM kind of sucks a little.