Search

Hello everyone.

If you have time and a cup of coffee, I'd be grateful if you read my post and give some answers to this newbie here. If you don't have that much time, but still have the good heart to help me out, please just check out my questions at the bottom...

Like a lot of people here, I'm a man with a great idea. This idea should give birth to an amazing site that unites people, brings them together organizing stuff about their lives, helps them share in social networks, etc, etc.

Two years ago I set this idea in motion and decided to deploy it as a Joomla plug-in. Why? Because:

1. It seemed like a sane object-oriented cms, and I liked its MVC approach (I'm a programmer)
  2. It provided good APIs for MySQL (My site requires a fancy relational database and lots of sql magic)
  3. It came with a convenient back-end, and lots of components (menus, user permission levels and roles, security, etc...) that would make my life easier.
  4. When done, people could just install Joomla, download my plug-in, and voila!

However, two things changed my cool project forever: (1) I ditched the "download-my-plugin" approach and decided to create a full-fledged web application people could go to instead, and (2) consequently, worried a bit more about its presentation and usability.

So I ditched most of Joomla's high-level scaffolding and tried to use its essential components to create my application. I designed a functional template using the latest version of Bootstrap, included the latest jQuery libs, and started my site.

Nightmares ensued.