Search

First, I'll start with the why? I love Symphony, I love XSLT, but I work in a shop that has put 11 years of work into a Perl application to run everything from site management to shopping carts to project management and reporting. What we don't have is an XSLT templating system. I'd love to be able to integrate ideas from Symphony into our site management system so I can still get to work with XSLT. Also, Perl is a mature language with a lot of available open source resources, including several modules for working with XSLT.

So, I am toying with the idea of porting Symphony to Perl, even though I have very little PHP or Perl programming experience. It may be misdirected energy, but I figure that this would be a great project to help me learn more about the Symphony backend. If (and it's a big IF) I ever finish the project, I'll have a good understanding of PHP, Perl, MySQL, CSS, and AJAX, and I'll have the tools to extend my work to Symphony Extensions, for both PHP and Perl. Plus, there is the potential to extend the reach of Symphony to a much wider audience. One of benefits would be a demonstration of how easy it would be to create portable XSLT applications that just work, regardless of the server environment.

That said, I'd like to first get a ruling from the development team about whether this is something that would be in line with the open source MIT license under which Symphony 2 Beta - Revision 5 has been released, and with their long-term goals for Symphony. The license pretty much says it:

All source code included in the "Symphony 2 Beta - Revision 5" archive is, 
unless otherwise specified, released under the MIT licence as follows:

----- begin license block -----

Copyright 2008 Alistair Kearney, Allen Chang, Scott Hughes

Permission is hereby granted, free of charge, to any person obtaining a copy
of this software and associated documentation files (the "Software"), to deal