Search

Hi there,

Yes, like lots of other people here.. I’m new. I’m completely new to this XSLT concept. And yes, i like it because it is really clean. With direct PHP in your ‘template’ files (for instance at Wordpress and other blog/cms systems) or even with template parsers like smarty, you will allways get in trouble with the indention and line breaks. Now.. that said, i have a question regarding these so called ‘variables’ you seem to can call anywhere in the system.

For example:

<xsl:value-of select="$website-name"/>
    <xsl:text> - </xsl:text>
    <xsl:value-of select="$page-title"/>
</xsl:template>
  • Now where does $website-name come from? Where is it defined? How many of these ‘global’ vars are there, and what’s their name? Even better: how can i add more variables like that.

I really like to use the url instead of my site name on some parts on my site. (not just “Site name”) but “site-name.com”.

• My second question is regarding the localization of date-time. Is there somehow a way to let that date-time utility listen to the setlocale(LC_ALL, ‘nl_NL’); i set in the main index.php file?

Thank you

There are some variables (known as System Parameters) that are just available out of the box from Symphony.

To view these, when you ?debug a page, click on the Params link. Alternatively, you can view them in the documentation. I think $root is the one you are you looking for :)

You can also setup variables in XSLT with the following:

<xsl:variable name='url' select='"site-name.com"' />

Note the double quotes. That indicates the value is a string, otherwise it’d think it’s an XPath expression.

As for your second question, I’m not sure as I don’t use the default Symphony date-time utility. The timezone information is however available through the $timezone param.

setlocale(LC_ALL, ‘nl_NL’); i set in the main index.php file