Search

Hi,

I’m new to Symphony and very impressed with it so far. The Tutorials and Concepts have been useful but I’ve run into an issue with my site structure that I could use some extra help with. It’s a common scenario so I imagine there will be an easy answer but unfortunately the explanation will be a bit long.

Here’s what I want to achieve. Given a particular Section, say Articles, I would like to have an archive of all entries at:

www.example.com/articles

with the individual articles available at URLs like:

www.example.com/articles/title-of-my-article

I was able to set up the Data Source, Page and Page Template for the archive page pretty easily but ran into trouble with the individual entries. Here’s what I did.

1. Created a second Data Source with a URL Parameter of $title to pull back the article with the Title specified in the URL.

2. Created a new Page with a URL Parameter of title that used the new Data Source.

But I couldn’t work out how to get the correct URLs for the individual entries. Making the new Page a child of the archive Page gave URLs like this:

www.example.com/articles/url-handle/title-of-my-article

And if I made the page a child of root I couldn’t reuse the ‘articles’ URL handle. So here’s what I did next.

1. Added the URL Parameter title to the archive Page.

2. Added the second Data Source to the archive Page (so that it uses both Data Sources).

3. Added a test of the $title parameter to my Page Template to work out which type of page is being displayed (archive or individual entry) and apply the appropriate template.

From a front-end perspective this works perfectly but when I check the debug I can see that I’m getting archive and individual entry data returned all the time (which makes sense as I’m using both Data Sources).