Search

Howdy all. Total noob here, but I’m definitely liking Symphony.

Part of a learning site I’m building contains a blog, and as is normal with blogs, it has archive sub-navigation that lists years or years and months of existing articles. To get those years I have a data source fetching all the published article dates sorted and grouped by date. Everything works fine, but I feel like I’m not doing this the right way. For blogs with a high post frequency, it seems like I’m having to drag up a lot of data just to get a handful of corresponding years.

For example, say the blogger posts daily for 5 years. To get 5 year entries in the navigation, I’d be fetching 1800+ items. But all I need from the XML side is 5 items, one for each year. Is there a way to perform a query for distinct subsets of the date value (unique years)? I haven’t found anything addressing this in the forum yet. Am I going about this all wrong? Or is this an insignificant efficiency I’m after?

Thanks in advance.

Hey BBQ welcome!

You’re dead right, what you’re after is more than an insignificant efficiency. You need to add additional filters to your datasource. Specifically, it sounds like you would filter by the year. (I’m not sure what your section looks like, but I usually prefer to create my own ‘date’ field rather than use the system date, so I can change it if I need to backdate an entry.) Anyway, assuming that you have a ‘date’ field:

1. Add a url parameter for year to your Symphony Page (eg ‘year’)
  2. Add a filter to your data source that filters using your date field by the $year parameter

Now, if a user enters ‘example.com/archives/2006’ The ‘2006’ will pass into the Symphony param pool as the value of $year. The DS will then filter its results based on that year. Keep in mind that the default behavior for this would lead the ‘example.com/archives’ page to output all years, unless one is specified. You can read all about parameters here.

Hope that helps & good luck!