Search

hi all,

first i’d like to say that i’m new to symphony, but i’ve been fallowing it’s progress for about over a year now, and i’ve decided to make the big step -to finally use it in a project.

but like all newbies i’m having a bit of a problem wrapping my head around some concepts.

for example, is it possible to limit the creation, or disable the “create new” button for a specific content? if this is possible it would make symphony a great solution for page based cms. the site i’m planing to use symphony with is not a blog-style (river of news). rather the pages have a set structure of basic information and no river of news style.

my first intuitive approach was to create a section, let’s say “home” and of course all it’s associated pages e.g., data source, utilities, etc…
i left the option: “hide this section from the publish menu” unchecked. this meant that the “section” would be listed under the menu point “content”.

but, this solution has a drawback, it allows the admin user the ability to create additional content/pages. it would be great if there was a “limit”, or “disable create new” option on the page that creates the sections. that way one could use the “section” as a page and not just content for a page. the admin user would only see the content to be edited and not the “create new” button on the right.

also the project that i would like to use symphony with is in two languages. it would be much appreciated if someone could give me some tips on the workflow for a i18n implementation with symphony.

thanx

Welcome Curtis, from the lurking depths :-)

Knupska’s Static Section should have what you’re after. It limits a section to a single entry to allow you to create “one-off” sections suitable for specific pages.