Search

Hi all,

I'm a dev and I'm new around.

I wanna know if by using the event engine, it is possible to validate form elements.

I have found a method load() inside the created event php page and with early tests I can avoid calling the __trigger() to avoid saving the entry.

I have a section called Players that contains the login/email of the player.

As this form's validation needs to check if the typed login already exists on an entry of Players, I am wondering what is the best way to query the database?

Note that also, I have hard time to find out how symphony works. As example, is there a global method to test if a field value matches an email ?

Regards,

Validation usually remains at the field level (in your section) and not at the form level (in your event), so think about the problem in terms of the field itself. If you want to enforce uniqueness on an email address, then I suggest the Unique Text Input Field. Validation in Symphony occurs within each field, so using this field means your uniqueness is enforced when entering data both through the backend form and also frontend events.

Sry forgot to say that I was talking about the front-end.

ok tx for info will see what "Unique Text Input Field" does.

I wanted to avoid javascript validation and to make it server side knowing that I have successfully posted an entry from outside the website, that represents a security leak. In "Players" section, there is a field called "role", I have inserted a player with "mod" role, while normally a new registered player shouldn't be a mod.

Questions :

• So, is there a way to force default values for some fields ?
  • is it possible to totally ignore some fields from the posted forum for security reasons ?
  • Is there a way to change the type of a field on sections without losing data ?