Search

Hi all,

I've recently started developing with Symphony and I'm absolutely loving it! XSLT is all very new to me but I'm getting there thanks to a lot of poking around on the forums and some extensive googling.

One of the things I really want to provide for authors, is the ability to float or align images within text while avoiding WYSIWYG. Since I am no php developer I have come to a solution using Subsection Manager, section fields, the ninja technique and css which I would like to share.

Basically, an author can drag and drop images inside the textarea using subsection manager and pick an alignement option for it from a drop down inside the image entry (see attachment). This of course limits the scope for re-using images across sections, however images will rarely be used in this way for this site, if ever so I'm not too bothered.

So here is the code.

<xsl:template match="portfolio/entry">
<h2>
    <xsl:value-of select="title"/>
    <xsl:if test="$is-logged-in = 'true'">
        <a class="edit" href="{$root}/symphony/publish/{../section/@handle}/edit/{@id}/">Edit</a>
    </xsl:if>
</h2>
<xsl:apply-templates select="description/*" mode="html"/>
<p class="genericMore"><a href="{$root}/portfolio/">Back to Portfolio</a></p>
</xsl:template>

<xsl:template match="//img" mode="html" priority="1">
<xsl:variable name="currentimg" select="."/>
<xsl:for-each select="/data/portfolio/entry/images/item/image-title">
    <xsl:if test=". = $currentimg/@alt">
        <xsl:variable name="currentalign" select="../align/item"/>
        <xsl:element name="img">
            <xsl:attribute name="class"><xsl:value-of select="$currentalign"/></xsl:attribute>
            <xsl:attribute name="src"><xsl:value-of select="$currentimg/@src"/></xsl:attribute>
            <xsl:attribute name="alt"><xsl:value-of select="$currentimg/@alt"/></xsl:attribute>
        </xsl:element>
    </xsl:if>
</xsl:for-each>

<xsl:template match="//*[child::img][not(text())]" mode="html" priority="1">