Search

Hi,

I wanna know pls what are THE extensions that anyone should have to use symphony on the best way and the most efficient way.

Why, when and what extensions to use ?

Some few questions :

• What are the best extensions for upload images and resize ?
  • Why/when using unique fields, and why/when not ?
  • What datasource extension to use and when ?
  • What are the list of field extensions that are a MUST.
  • How to manipulate html with the best way through xsl ?
  • ... add more infos if you can pls that will be for sure welcome and helpfull.

I am making personnally a community website and I need the following features :

• rich text formatters with smileys, BBcode, and special features such as forbidden words excluder.
  • members management
  • forums with vote options and attachements
  • many different uploads
  • a tool for chat
  • many other features for a gamers community

Any advices ?

N.B: I'm a java/J2EE dev

regards,

Have a look here for a few of your questions:

I have read HTML Ninja Technique many times and I still don't find any use for it.

And for the Default Extensions topic, it is outdated (about 2years)

Well, the Ninja Technique is a perfect tool

• for markup changes (adjusting headline hierarchy, replacing HTML elements)
  • to create complex interfaces based on textarea output (e. g. inline image galleries)

I use it all the time.

Based on the questions, plan to get your feet wet. Unfortunately, to answer all of your questions you're going to need to do your homework; many are subjective and you know your project best.

We can be more helpful if you have specific questions when it comes to your project and the functionality of Symphony or an extension.

OK, I thought you would like to help all at once.

So here is my first question : what is best way to make rich text formatter with smileys, BBcode, and special features such as forbidden words excluder on the frontend ?