Search

Hy all, I'm completely new to symphony, on the search for the best suited CMS for my current project, I stepped on this one and I really love what I read so far. Only the concept of the datasources is not willing to get into my head. I read the (extremely short) tutorial over and over again and now I'm more confused then before. Even if it sound's really stupid:

How do I pass a parameter to a datasource?

Is the concept based on a standart, where I can get further informations from external sources or is it symphony specific?

How can I call a datasource more than once on a page, with different parameters?

Basically I'm trying to build a startpage that aggregates articles from different categories, listing the latest three articles for each category. And, as long as we're on it, how would you implement a hierarchical category, so that it's possible to request all articles of sub-categories when calling a parent-category.

Cheers, Till

in your particular instance, you wouldn't need to pass a parameter to your datasource at all. if you create a datasource called something like articles by category, then in the lower right of the datasource create/edit page, underneath 'XML Output' there is a dropdown box labeled 'group by'. this will structure your xml in such a way that you can select a category and then select the first 3 articles.

Fawx has the right of it for what you're describing on your start page. "Group by" is a really useful little option..

How do I pass a parameter to a datasource?

You set up a filter with the parameter as a value. Suppose later you want to create a page that displays all the articles from a specific category. You can set a url parameter on that page that returns the requested category as $category. Then in your data source, you set up a filter on the Category field, and for the Value you enter {$category}.

How can I call a datasource more than once on a page, with different parameters?