Search

Some people (like me) who are new to Symphony wonder about the many tables in the (default) Symphony database. They wonder what all the sym_entries_data_# tables are about and why Symphony (seemingly!) has so many db queries for each page load.

It is certainly not necessary to understand the Symphony db schema to work with Symphony and the 'many queries' topic has been discussed a little but I wonder if a Symphony veteran/core dev could give us a brief overview of how the various tables relate to eachother, and why…

The only Forum posts I could discover are this one by Alistair, explaining the DB scaling benefits of the current setup and this one by Nick explaining the many queries.

I am no DB expert but I would benefit from having a clearer insight in how the tables relate. My lack of overview makes it difficult sometimes when e.g. I need to manually alter some tables/add some content. I don't quite know where to find certain content etc. (just now I had to manually add some Upload File info to some entries which took some searching).

My current understanding: Entries do not contain content directly but are related to a Section in sym_entries. All current fields (of every Section) are in sym_fields. Every field type has its own table (e.g. sym_fields_input). Content is related to these fields in the sym_entries_data_# tables.

Given the scenario of me wanting to change a, say, simple input text, how would I best find the piece of content to change? The challenge is finding the proper sym_entries_data_# table.

What I do a.t.m. is:

1. Find the proper Field ID (Web inspector in Section editor, yeah really)
  2. Look in sym_fields_input for the row with field_id from [1.] and note its id
  3. {STRESS} because there is no way to find which sym_entries_data_# table I should look in…

…so I check all sym_entries_data_# tables and think "There should be a better way" ;)