Search

I'm new to Git and I've been trying out bits and bobs from Jonas's tutorial but I'm stuck at deploying my site to a public repo on GitHub.

Can anyone expand on this section for me (or point me to another appropriate tutorial)?

Middleweight: deploying your site to public or private repositories Suppose you want to host a copy of your site’s repository on Github, or use a local development repository and occasionally push it to another server. You’ll maintain a link to the official repository for core updates, but change the origin to your own repository.

git remote add symphony git://github.com/symphonycms/symphony-2.git

git remote rm origin

git remote add origin git@github.com:username/site.git

git push origin master

Thanks, D

Ah sure, starting playing around with git quite recently.

By setting your own origin you can make and save any changes. Such as the sub-modules and the versions of each that you are using, any config settings etc..

Then if you need to push changes to another server - your server would be checking up on the git repository that you set-up for any changes and pull them back from github or your private git repository.

Main Advantage - in my view, is that whoever you give the repository to they will always have the exact same set-up as you including the correct sub-modules (should run same commit as you have) and whenever you run Symphony Updates - your config sub-modules etc.. would not be over-written. (anyone correct if I have a wrong impression.

Thanks, gunglien; I think I understand the principle.

I also think I (just about) understand the first three commands above; just to check, in the third line, should the repository (site.git in the example, right?) exist already, or can/does that command create it on the go?

I don't understand the fourth command; should I copy it word-for-word? If I do at present, I get an error:

'ERROR: Repository not found. fatal: The remote end hung up unexpectedly'