Search

Hello,

I'm relatively new to Symphony and I'm starting to love the flexibility it gives. There is one thing though that seems to greatly limit that flexibility and that is the Pages concept. I don't seem to understand why Symphony uses Pages instead of using Templates and letting the url/params be managed differently.

From what I gather the Symphony philosophy is that the core should be extremely flexible and that extensions should be used for different scenarios. To me the Pages management seems to be the opposite of that philosophy. You end up using extensions to make it more flexible.

Why not use a Template for pages, sections and data sources so when a users creates a new page, for example "blog2" and selects a template than symphony creates the "blog2" page, the "blog2" section (be it one entry or not depending on the template) and the "blog2_ds" datasource.

This goes out to the more experiened Symphony developers, maybe you could explain why this architecture was chosen and what do you think about this.

Thank you and sorry for my english.

Alex, first of all, welcome!

From your post it seems to me as if you misunderstood how pages and sections within Symphony work. I had typed a whole response trying to explain it, but I came to the conclusion that the best thing to do is to install the default workspace, and take it for a spin.

Anyway, here is a very brief explanation of the key concepts. What you are suggesting right now is pretty much how it already works. The only difference is that within Symphony you don't think in Pages and Posts as you would in any other system. Instead, there are entries. Entries can be anything you want them to be: pages, posts, tweets, comments, anything. They are essentialy your building blocks.