Search

Now, I have people at work asking, “Why are we not using Symphony?”

:-)

Yeah. I could have kept going for a while, but I didn’t want to monopolize the time. The release of Symphony 3.0 that came after my presentation pretty much trumped whatever I was going to say.

But, I think I will feel less rushed to throw something together and produce a comprehensive tutorial on how to use Form Controls and Section Schemas to rebuild Symphony with Symphony. (And maybe even how to rebuild WordPress with Symphony, or Textpattern.)

The design business admin tool has been something I’ve been dreaming of for several years. I requested a feature that became the Sectionlink field to establish relationships between sections. Then the Events system was added based on my request for front end forms, which I commissioned Alistair to build for me. At that point, I knew Symphony was going to be able to accomplish what I had in mind.

The next piece I needed was access control, which I had with the pieces I had commissioned from Twentyone Degrees for Symphony 1.7. But these pieces were not forward compatible with 2.0, so access control was promised as an extension in Symphony 2.0. It’s taken a long time to get to a working Members extension, and it will need some attention from the dev team before it can be taken out of beta.