Search

Hello,

Im studying the standard workspace expecially the archive section. It looks like this : link text

Now I don't understand one thing. In the section where archive is written. The rule after that is <apply-templates="year/month"> But I can't find anywhere where the template year/month is written.

Can anyone explain how this works.

Roelof

This one on line 5

<apply-templates="year/month">

says: "Hey, XSL-processor, from this point on, for all nodes year/month that you can find, apply all templates that match these nodes."

On line 8, this

<xsl:template match="month">

says: "Hey, XSL-processor, I have something to apply for whatever nodes called month you have in your memory. Use me, please!"

Line 5 wants to apply "year/month". "year/month" and "month" can match that rule. On line 8 you have template match="month" which is applied.

Rule of thumb (@ all XSL pros, no priorities involved, includes, imports and whatever ;) ):

Given

<xsl:apply-templates select="continent/country/city" />

XSL-processor will first search and apply :

<xsl:template match="continent/countrycity">...</xsl:template>

If it can't find it, then will search and apply :

<xsl:template match="country/city">...</xsl:template>

If it can't find it, then will search and apply :

<xsl:template match="city">...</xsl:template>

If it can't find it, sky will fall. Try it :)

Oke,

A node is the same as a article ?

So In that template it will do this

First I will search to a template called year/month. That fails so I will look at a template called month which is present. So if I want to make a year/month archive menu. I have to change the month to a year/month template.

A node is the same as a article?

A node is a general term used to describe XML. In your example year and month are both nodes; more specifically, they are elements.

Reread the post above regarding your assumption because your change is not necessary unless you have competing templates.